July Wrap Up

I am very disappointed with the number of books I read this month. I was expecting to read a lot more because my exams are over, it’s the summer holidays, and I didn’t even limit myself with a tbr. However, this has just proved to me my need for a tbr. I read a lot more with one, even if I don’t stick to it. I think I just like to have some kind of guide or aim, otherwise I don’t end up getting to the books I want to. I did read some quite long books though, and gained some new favourites, so it wasn’t all bad!

  • The Secret History by Donna Tartt

I loved this book. The characters were so flawed and very easy to hate, but that was kind of the point. I found the structure very interesting, as in the first chapter you know who is murdered, but this really added something interesting to the novel as a whole. However I think the second half got quite slow, and for me I think it could have been paced a bit better, however this might not be a problem for you. But still DEFINITELY recommended, well worth reading for sure!

4 stars

  • Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman

This book was just so much fun. I needed something light and fast to read after reading The Secret History. Vengeance Road was the perfect one for me to pick up, I flew through it. Recommended if you are looking for a fun, action packed YA read that isn’t afraid to be a bit brutal at times.

4 stars

  • The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

This book completely blew me away. I thought it might be a bit too much of a leap for me because I haven’t read a lot of adult fantasy in the past, but I was so wrong! It was an incredible reading experience, and the magic system was just fascinating to read about. This book totally opened up a whole genre to me and I will definitely be reading more Sanderson books and fantasy books in general. A new favourite, recommended!

5 stars, review here

  • Our Dark Duet by VE Schwab

I am sad to say that this was a huge disappointment, and it was probably my fault. I found this so hard to get into, which I think is partly if not mainly because I had no idea what was going on because I had completely forgotten what happened in the first book. However even when I got a grasp of what was happening, I found it boring and quite anticlimactic, despite the shocking ending. Please don’t rely on my review, I can’t really judge it on my experience and I don’t want you to either!

3 stars

Wow, this post is so late coming up, but I hope you enjoyed it anyway 🙂 TBR coming soon!

2 thoughts on “July Wrap Up

    • I also had it for about 6 months before actually reading it. I guess the best thing to do is just wait till you really feel like reading it, because I think I enjoyed it more because I was in the mood for it! I hope you enjoy it when you read it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

