June Wrap Up

I usually do a Wrap Up and a TBR but I’ve decided not to do a TBR this time as I have recently found that I tend to read more if I don’t plan what to read, and instead just pick up any book that interests me at the time. My reading was slightly limited to the second half of the month because of my exams during the first half of June, however I still read 5 books, so lets get into it!

  • Fairest by Marissa Meyer  –  5 stars

This seriously impressed me. I wasn’t sure what to expect, whether this novella would be a bit of a half hearted addition to a very successful series, but in fact it absolutely reached the standard of the Lunar Chronicles. I had to give it 5 stars, awarded for its interesting examination of a villain which isn’t seen a lot in books, especially not in YA. It was also very gripping and it completely absorbed me from start to finish. I definitely recommend reading this as part of the Lunar Chronicles series as it definitely stands its ground as a worthy part of the series.

  • When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon – 4 stars

This book is an absolutely adorable YA contemporary which I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a light, enjoyable summer read. However, it offers even more than your average cute contemporary. One, it surpasses any other I’ve read in terms of cuteness and two it is outright hilarious in parts. But perhaps the most stand out thing about this book is its perspective, being based around two Indian American teens. This isn’t a perspective I have read from before and it was very eye opening in terms of learning about the tradition of arranged marriages and also just experiencing a perspective that is explored very little in YA. I deducted a star only because of the predictability of some of the plot, but honestly it isn’t a huge fault and I would still without a doubt recommend it. It was the ideal book for me to come across during my exams.

Full review

  • Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff – 5 stars

Wow, this book was an emotional rollercoaster. The plot in this book was just jam packed with twists that I never saw coming, despite how many there were being thrown my way. The characters were awesome, challenging their roles in society and just generally being amazing. I can’t decide whether I preferred this to Illuminae, to be honest both were brilliant and if you haven’t read this series yet I strongly advise that you do. If you feel intimidated by the sci fi aspect, don’t be, because I never read sci fi, these may be some of the first sci fi books I have read but I had no trouble getting involved in the stories and enjoying them.

Full review

  • Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor – 4 stars

I actually finished this on the 1st of July, but I read the majority of the book in June. To begin with I adored this book as much as the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy. This book is endlessly imaginative and literally, a dream. However, there were some aspects I began to find fault with as the book went on, which I will discuss in my full review, which I will post tomorrow. Overall, I loved it. Just not quite up to the impossibly high standards set by Laini Taylor’s other books.

Full review to come

  • Persuasion by Jane Austen – 5 stars

How could this not be 5 stars. This is the first of the many classics I will be reading this summer and in short, I loved it. It was honestly really involving and I loved the maturity of Anne, the lead character. I don’t think it is my favourite Austen, that would have to go to either P&P or Emma, but I still loved it and I enjoyed the themes. I will discuss the themes more in an upcoming post, not a review, more of a run down of what makes it a classic, which I will be doing with most of the classics I read in the next few months. I’d love to hear opinions on which Austen book is your favourite, as it would be interesting to see which is the most popular.

What was your favourite book you read in June? Have you read any of the books I read this month? Which was your favourite?

 

 

6 thoughts on “June Wrap Up

  1. Ahhh! I just started reading when Dimple Met Rishi this morning and I LOVE it! I initially thought it was going to be totally a cliché coming-of-age novel about two teenagers from traditional families ultimately falling in love. I mean, plot-wise it is, but the narrative style and the way in which Menon alternates between 2 focalizers, Dimple and Rishi makes it so charming, and the humor is fantastic!
    I look forward to reading more from you soon, happy reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So many 5 and 4 stars, you had such a great reading month! I read and loved Gemina, When Dimple Met Rishi, such great books 😀 I haven’t read Strange The Dreamer yet but heard fantastic things about it, can’t wait to get to it 🙂 Happy reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

