Best Books of 2017 so far

I thought this would be a nice post to do to summarise the reading I have done so far this year. I didn’t manage to do this on Tuesday this week, although it was the topic for top ten Tuesday, but I thought I might as well do it anyway. Also, just to clarify, not all these books were released this year, they are just ones that I have read this year. So, lets get into the list:

In no particular order…

  1. Outrun the Moon by Stacey Lee 26192915 Review        I have to say, I don’t remember a huge amount about this book, except that I really enjoyed it and struggled to find a single fault. One of the best things, if I remember correctly, was the themes of community and friendship in this very heartwarming historical novel set in San Fransisco. Definitely recommend (as with everything on this list, obviously).
  2. We Were Liars by E Lockhart 16143347 Review This book is raved about a huge amount in the book community, and also hated by some people. I feel like it is a love or hate scenario, and luckily for me, I loved it. You might not, but if you are willing to take that risk, I would definitely recommend giving it a go. Its only short, if you don’t like it then you don’t have to suffer very long!
  3. Illuminae Files (books 1 and 2) by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff 51puwgixkl-_sy344_bo1204203200_ Illuminae Review 9781780749815_1.jpg  Gemina Review  These books are just so hilarious, balanced with death and devastation. And yes, they are as crazy as they sound. And told through a mixture of texts, emails, transcripts, diary entries, the list goes on. Do I really need to say more? Read them!
  4. It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover25322449 Review  This is an adult contemporary dealing with domestic abuse. It is an important book, as well as a very emotional one. The subject matter is dealt with sensitively and knowingly.
  5. Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy by Laini Taylor 61czWGfS9PL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_DOSAB Review DOBASpbk.jpg9781444722758.jpgDOGAM Review WOW THIS SERIES. Probably my favourite YA series ever. It is that good. A stunning story, beautifully told with the most brilliant characters. Also, it is extremely gripping and just non stop amazing. Please read it!!
  6. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood51vhe12rxjl-_sy344_bo1204203200_ I think everyone knows by now that this is a must read, but I am just going to reinstate it. It is such an important book about feminism, and also a brilliant sci fi book.
  7. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath51v-zo8SXkL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg This book surprised me. I didn’t know what to expect going in to it, but I found it so readable and I couldn’t put it down. It is based around depression and suicide, and is intense but definitely worth a read.
  8. Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi 514jJ54bnNL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_ Review Wow, this book is good. It is such an original structure, spanning generations with a chapter for each character. Somehow it sweeps across the history of slavery whilst still zooming in to individual characters. And somehow it connects you to each character in a single chapter. This book should be impossible, but it exists. And it is pure brilliance. Go read it.
  9. Fairest by Marissa Meyer 22489107.jpg This book was surprisingly intense. It is based around Queen Levana from the Lunar Chronicles, and it is a lot deeper and darker than the original series. I wouldn’t say it is necessarily better than the fun filled, friendship filled adventures of the Lunar Chronicles, but it is well worth a read.
  10. When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon 28458598Review This book is ideal to read during exams, as I did. Such a fun, light read but also with more elements to it like the theme of arranged marriage. It was just so enjoyable to read and I had a great time reading it, as I’m sure you would to.

I know I am going to read so many more wonderful books this year; I am currently reading Strange the Dreamer and it is spell bounding.

What is the best book you have read this year so far? Did any of my favourites make your list?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Best Books of 2017 so far

Leave a Reply

