YA Series I want to read this summer (Top Ten Tuesday)

This is the second in a series I’m doing for different genres of books I want to read this summer, as I have finished my exams. When I saw the Top Ten Tuesday topic (series you have been meaning to read) I thought I might as well combine it with this, except this will just be YA. A lot of these won’t be completed series, but if it is only the first book which is out, I will be including it on my next post on books I need to read this summer.

  1. The Young Elites by Marie Lu

I’ve owned this series since Christmas but haven’t got around to reading it yet. I really need to read something by Marie Lu, as I feel like I’m one of the only people who haven’t! I decided to buy this instead of the Legend Series just because I saw it had slightly better reviews.

2. The Winner’s Curse series by Marie Rutkoski

I have read the first in this series (see my review here) and I wasn’t hugely impressed. However, I have heard that it gets better with each book so I am planning to read the next two very soon.

3. Monsters of Verity by VE Shwab

I have also read the first book in this duology and in contrast to the Winner’s Curse, I loved it! The second book has just come out, and I already have a copy of it, so all I need to do now is get on and read it. Although I am struggling to remember what happened in the first book, so a re read may be due… Do you re read books? Or do you have a better way of re capping the previous book in a series? Let me know in the comments, it would be extremely helpful, because I don’t really want to have to keep re reading books!

4. Front Lines by Michael Grant

This has been on my shelves for months, I really have to read it soon. I think it is going to be a trilogy? Maybe a duology. But anyway, from what I understand it is basically an alternate World War Two, where women could also fight. Which sounds like a really awesome concept, so I hope this doesn’t let down my high expectations!

5. And I Darken by Kirsten White

I have owned this for a year, and put off reading it because I heard it was quite boring. But I have seen so many glowing reviews since then that I am going to have to give it a try; I really hope I love it! The second book comes out soon, so I want to read it before then, and then read the second one.

6. The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

I am so curious to see how magical realism is used in this series, as since I read the Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender, I have wanted to see what else the genre has to offer. Plus this series is extremely popular, so hopefully it will live up to the hype.

7. The Seven Realms Series by Cinda Williams Chima

This seems to be a proper fantasy series, and I really want to get into one. I want to be immersed into another world for a series, so if I like it I might binge read this series at some point. It has pretty good reviews, so hopefully it will be something I would enjoy.

8. The Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness

I have started the first book of this series quite a few times so I want to continue and finish the trilogy. This is one of the most highly viewed trilogies in YA, so I think I am seriously missing out on something by not having picked these up yet.

9. The Shades of London Trilogy by VE Shwab

Last year I read the first book and liked it, but I felt like I didn’t fully get immersed in it. Therefore I want to reread A Darker Shade of Magic and move on to read the rest of the trilogy, which from what I have heard is absolutely brilliant.

10. The Red Rising Trilogy by Pierce Brown

This was lent to me and I feel bad for not having read it yet, plus I really want to get into the world. I started the first book but exams got in the way, so I’m hoping to get back to the series fairly soon.

Have you read any of these series? Did you enjoy them? I’d also love to know if there are any great YA series you think I should definitely read!

Also, on a different note, I am starting from today to update and post bookish photos on my instagram account, so if you are at all interested, you can find me on instagram @_booksareallyouneed and also on Litsy, which is a social media app entirely for books @booksareallyouneed . I have been updating Litsy fairly regularly for a while, and I would definitely recommend it, it is basically a mixture of goodreads, instagram and twitter and it is so awesome! You may also see my blog change from now on in terms of design, as I am going to try and improve the design with artwork and photography and a new theme.

Anyway, if you are still reading, thanks for that! I will be posting a review of Gemina tomorrow probably, so look out for that. Bye!

 

 

4 thoughts on “YA Series I want to read this summer (Top Ten Tuesday)

  1. Love your list!! I love the Winner’s series! I am on book 2 of Shades of London series. The Savage Song was great too. I also liked The Young Elites. It’s crazy but I’m in the middle of most series on your list πŸ™‚ I haven’t started on And I Darken though πŸ™‚ I hope you will enjoy them all!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

