Classics I want to read this summer

This will be the first in a series of posts where I decide what books to read in the two and a half months holiday I have this summer. I will start with classics and then next time I will talk about YA series, then YA standalone, then Adult fiction.

  1. Persuasion by Jane Austen

I literally just started this and I am really enjoying it so far. I read a few Austen books a couple of years ago, so it brought back nice memories of reading those books. My favourites would have to be Pride and Prejudice and Emma, but I have heard a lot of praise for this one, which makes me want to discover why this one in particular is favoured by so many people. On that note, I am thinking about doing a post each time I read a classic saying ‘What makes … a classic’. Let me know if you would be happy to see this content, because I was trying to think of an alternative to reviewing classics, which I find hard.

2. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

Oscar Wilde is one of those authors who always seems to be quoted. This really makes me intrigued to read this book because as far as I know this is his only novel… correct me if I am wrong! But this is one I have been meaning to pick up for a while but just haven’t found the right moment. It is also quite short which makes me hope it is a really impactful couple of hundred pages!

3. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

This is quite a contrast with the previous one, being hundreds and hundreds of pages. But I would really like to read more lengthy books whilst I have the time, so this is definitely one I hope to get to. It seems like it could really capture my attention and be a very involving read. I have heard it is easier to get into than War and Peace, which I hope is true!

4. A Passage to India by E M Forster

I actually don’t know a huge amount about this. I have heard a lot of praise for it, and it just sounds like it would really interest me. I feel like I am missing out by not reading it, which is a good sign that I need to get to it.

5. Animal Farm by George Orwell

Now this is a really urgent one to read. I honestly don’t know how I haven’t read it, seeing as it has been on my shelves for so long. Plus its so short! What am I even doing with my life? I adored 1984 so now I have even more incentive to pick this up, plus so many people name it as one of their favourite books of all time.

6. The Great Gatsby by F Scott Fitzgerald

I’m a bit nervous to read this, mainly because I’ve heard it is quite dense to get through because of the language, despite its length? But obviously it is one I have to read, it is well known as a must read, so I need to give it a try at least. Who knows, it may become a new favourite! Let me know your opinions on this book, did you find it dense or not, is it definitely worth reading?

7. The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas

I’ve started this before, but I didn’t have time to finish it. From what I remember it was quite easy to get into and it was enjoyable to read, which is what I’m hoping for! I might be wrong, but what I’m expecting to get from this is the classic adventure novel, which I hope I’m right about!

8. The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte

Jane Eyre is probably my favourite book of all time, and I’ve also read Wuthering Heights (but I definitely need to re read at some point), so this seems like a natural book I need to read. This doesn’t get talked about nearly as much as the other Bronte books, however I have heard it is underrated, so I want to discover what is hopefully a hidden gem.

9. The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler

I think this is a murder mystery, I don’t know a whole lot about it but I own it and have wanted to read it for a long time, so lets hope I’ll find the time this summer!

10. My Cousin Rachel by Daphne Du Maurier

Rebecca is one of my favourite books of all time, and I have heard this one is the most similar to Rebecca out of all Daphne Du Maurier’s books, so for me this definitely seems like a must read. Plus there is a new film of it just released.

So that is all the classics I am hoping to read this summer! Obviously there is a never ending list of classics I hope to read, but my aim with this list was to try and be realistic with my goals. I doubt I will read all of these, but hopefully I will read a decent amount of them.

Are there any classics you think I definitely need to read? Have you read any of these? I’d love to know any opinions on any classics in the comments!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Classics I want to read this summer

Leave a Reply

