May Wrap Up and June tbr

Hi, sorry I haven’t posted in a while! I’m in the middle of my exams, so I haven’t really had time to write reviews or anything, as I’ve been revising. But I thought I would just check in with this wrap up and tbr. I’ve only read two books, and both were contemporaries as I find them easier to go to as a break from revision, although I am seriously missing fantasy! Here are the books I read in May:

  • Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

This was so adorable! Honestly, one of the cutest books I’ve read, definitely one to go to if you are looking for a really light, cute read. I loved the characters, and how they all had such realistic issues which were explored in the book, such as Lincoln not really knowing what direction to go in with his life. However, it wasn’t perfect, I thought it got quite slow in the middle, not a lot seemed to be happening, so I think the pacing could have been better managed. I would say that it isn’t quite at the high standards of Eleanor and Park or Fangirl, but I would still recommend it if you are looking for something light and easy to go to during exams or whatever.

3 out of 5 stars

  • The Sun is also a Star by Nicola Yoon

I picked this one up entirely on a whim, I’ve been interested in reading it for a while, so I saw it in a bookshop and just decided to go for it. Again, this one was so adorable. It was exploring the idea of love at first sight, and basically trying to make a case for it. I felt like the two characters, Natasha and Daniel, definitely had chemistry, but I did find the whole story a bit too unrealistic, I couldn’t really get past how they only met each other that morning and the rest of the novel was that day. I also found the coincidences too much, as well as all the deeply philosophical conversations, which just didn’t seem realistic. What made this go up in my opinion was the chapters on other characters, and the way it showed how everyone has a story, and the influence people’s circumstances have on each other. Also, the chapters with information on subjects within the novel were really interesting, and definitely worked well.

3.5 out of 5 stars

I almost definitely won’t stick to this tbr, but these are books I might end up reading:

  • Fairest by Marissa Meyer
  • If I Stay by Gayle Forman
  • To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
  • Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly

These I will read when I have finished my exams (just over halfway through the month)

  • Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
  • Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor
  • The Flame in the Mist by Renée Adieh

I have already started Fairest, and I am really enjoying it so far. I will probably write a review for it soon, so look out for that! I’m not sure what else I will post in the next couple of weeks, if anything, but I will be back to regular reviews, tags, book hauls etc after exams. For around 2 and a half months I will be free from school, so I will be posting more regularly than I have been since I started this blog!

Thanks for reading, I look forward to being a lot more active reading and posting!

Leave a Reply

