April Wrap Up and May tbr

Hi!! I actually read 5 books this month which I am pretty impressed at considering the amount of revision etc I am having to do right now. But anyway, I don’t have a lot of time to write this so I’ll just go straight into it! Here are the books I read in April:

  • Caraval by Stephanie Garber

I was so incredibly disappointed by this book. So disappointed. As you could probably tell from my last couple of tbrs, I was incredibly excited about this one but it turned out to just really be not that great at all. I strongly disliked the characters and the writing, and it seemed like a lot of the details in the world building were just completely copying the Night Circus, except it was just nowhere near as good. If you are considering reading this book, don’t. Go read the Night Circus instead, trust me, it is a million times better.

I gave this 1 out of 5 hearts.

Review here

  • The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

Contrasting with Caraval, this one entirely exceeded my expectations. Obviously I knew it was a good book, but I wasn’t expecting to love it as much as I did. It was so personal and realistic, things I always look for in books. I didn’t actually review this, just because I don’t tend to review classics as I would end up basically writing an essay analysing it. Everyone already knows these are classics for a reason. But honestly, this is a must read.

I gave this 5 out of 5 hearts

  • Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor

This book was phenomenal. I adored it, a perfect finale to a perfect trilogy. I seriously recommend this trilogy to anyone who hasn’t read it already. I won’t go into why I loved it so much here, but if you are interested, then you can check out the review I posted a few weeks ago.

I gave this 5 out of 5 hearts

Review here 

  • Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi

If you have read my review, you know exactly how amazing I think this book is. This is one everyone should read, it is important, compelling, sensitive, educating… the list goes on. Just read it! If you need any more persuasion, look no further than my review. 🙂

I gave this 5 out of 5 hearts

Review here

  • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

This book is the reason this post is a bit late. It took me a little while to read because school, but I wanted to include it in my wrap up. No one go mad at me, but I had a lot of problems with this one. I can’t say I really enjoyed it overall, there were some aspects I liked but I don’t think it all came together, especially not as a Beauty and the Beast retelling. I found some parts quite problematic for a few reasons which I will discuss in my review, which I will probably write tomorrow.

I gave this 2 out of 5 hearts

Review to come

And now for my May tbr! This is probably slightly overambitious because exams, but I want to keep reading so I have chosen quite a few lighter reads for this month.

  • A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas

I have already started this one, and I want to get into it straight after I’ve read the first one so I can properly assess the solutions Sarah J Maas has come up with to the more problematic parts of ACOTAR, as I have heard that she does deal with the issues in this book. I’m really hoping it will all fall into place. I will probably also read the third book, but I don’t want to pressurise myself to get to it when I am focusing on exams and revision.

  • Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly

I didn’t manage to get to this last month so I’m hoping I will this month! I am highly anticipating reading this as I loved a couple of her other books which I have read, so I am hoping this lives up to it.

  • Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

This sounds like the perfect light read for exam season. I doubt it will be as good as Eleanor and Park and Fangirl, but I think by the time I get to it I will need some kind of fun escape from exams, so I am hoping this will provide that.

  • If I stay by Gayle Forman

I think this will probably be quite an easy read, which is what I am looking for, although I think it might be quite emotional also? I don’t know a lot about this, I just picked it up secondhand. I have heard of it a lot, but I don’t really know what people generally think of it. Let me know if you liked this one in the comments! I honestly don’t even know what it is about, but it is fairly short, and this month short books are a good thing.

  • The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

It is very unlikely I will end up reading this one this month, but I do have a half term holiday in the middle of my exams, so although I will be revising like crazy, I may have time to pick up this.

There are a few others I may end up reading: Simon vs the Homosapien Agenda by Becky Albertalli, Fairest by Marissa Meyer and A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas. I feel so stressed out right now, so I don’t want to give myself too much of a goal for reading, I just want to read whatever I feel like, as long as it isn’t too time consuming. Honestly, if I had the time I would be reading Strange the Dreamer right now, but I want to give that my entire focus and attention and really enjoy it, which won’t happen unless I wait till exams are over. How are any of you dealing with managing exams and reading and blogging at the same time? Let me know in the comments!

5 thoughts on “April Wrap Up and May tbr

Leave a Reply

