Beauty and the Beast Book Tag

Hi! Today I am going to take part in the Beauty and the Beast book tag, for a few reasons- I recently went to see the new film and I loved it, it was such a beautiful film, although I do wish it had been out when I was younger, because I know I would have adored it even more then! Also, I came across this tag done by Anushka H. on Going Through Books, and it just looked like so much fun, so I am so excited to do this!

  • “Tale as old as time” – A popular theme, trope, or setting you will never get tired of reading.

This is a difficult one, as I usually like books because they do something new…although I do usually really enjoy reading fantasy worlds that are inspired by a historical period, for example An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir. But then again, I do sometimes get annoyed when fantasy doesn’t push the boundaries of history enough, so I don’t know really. Actually, something I do really enjoy over and over is travelling between worlds and settings. Some examples of this are A Darker Shade of Magic by VE Shwab and Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. That is definitely something I never get tired of.

  • Belle – A book you bought for its cover that is just as beautiful on the inside.

25524583._UY700_SS700_.jpg

I love this cover so much! It caught my eye when I was browsing on amazon and I couldn’t resist buying it. I was a bit unsure about the actual book at the time because I hadn’t read many retellings so I didn’t know whether it would be something I would enjoy or not? But I should definitely not have worried as this is a beautiful book on the inside as well, the writing is just heavenly to read and I ended up loving the whole retelling aspect of it and the plot and romance.

  • Beast – A book you didn’t expect much from but pleasantly surprised you. Unknown

I’m going to go with the Lunar Chronicles for this one, because I had heard lots of mixed things for Cinder especially, so I was a bit like oh no I’m not going to like this at all, but I was thinking I didn’t want to miss out on the later books. But I shouldn’t have worried because I adored the entire series, it was so much fun, there were so many twists and turns and the characters were just amazing! But I wasn’t expecting it. At all. Plus I am not a fan of the covers, so that also put me off.

  • Gaston – A book everyone loves, but you don’t.

512And8xM0L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Well. There are a LOT I could go for for this as I often seem to have some controversial opinions about popular books. Some other examples are Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard, Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake and Caraval by Stephanie Garber. But I went with the 5th Wave by Rick Yancey because I would say it was the one that I had the highest expectations for (except Caraval but I have already written a full review for that here if you are interested). Everyone just seems to love this book and I just didn’t get it. I was dragging myself through it by the end. Also, I don’t know if this is just my own stupidity or not, but I found it really hard to know who was narrating? The viewpoint kept changing without any kind of labelling of who’s point of view it was, so most of the time I was just trying to work it out, as the characters definitely didn’t have distinct enough voices for me to be able to tell. Yeah, sorry, but it was not for me.

  • Lefou – A loyal sidekick you can’t help but love more than their counterpart.

61czWGfS9PL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I do love Karou, she is so awesome, but I can’t help but choose this book because of Zuzana. I don’t know if you’d call her a sidekick exactly, she kind of has her own story in my opinion but anyway I think she is amazing and I had to give her recognition, even though I don’t think she is specifically a better character than Karou…Why do you have to make it so hard for me to choose between your characters Laini Taylor? How are they all perfection?!

  • Mrs Potts, Chip, Lumière and Cogsworth – A book that helped you through a difficult time or really taught you something.

nineteen-eighty-four-popular-penguins

I’ve only used YA for this tag so far so lets mix things up a bit! I definitely wouldn’t say this book helped me through a difficult time, that would be impressive considering how depressing it is. But it definitely taught me a lot, I think everyone should read this book as it shows how important it is that we reflect on history and make sure that some events in history don’t ever repeat themselves.

  • “Something There” – A book or series that you weren’t into at first but picked up towards the end.

18166936.jpg

I wouldn’t say necessarily that this book ‘picked up’ at the end, it was more to do with me, as a reader. I don’t read a lot of magical realism, and it took a bit of time for me to get used to the weirdness of it all. But once I got accustomed to it, I really loved this one and I would definitely recommend it. Although to be completely honest I don’t exactly remember what happens, but I remember absolutely loving it, so that is a good sign? I have a really bad memory when it comes to books. Or anything really.

If you have any magical realism recommendations then please let me know in the comments!

  • “Be Our Guest” – A fictional character you’d love to have over for dinner.

41VGTZGpd+L

I’m going to say Eleanor from Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell, purely because she likes the Beatles, and I would love to just talk about the Beatles with her. That’s a good enough reason isn’t it?

So that’s it for the Beauty and the Beast tag, I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did. I am definitely going to start doing more tags because this was just so much fun and I love doing a whole theme like this. Anyway, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

