Top 5 Wednesday- Sci-fi and Fantasy on my TBR

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme created by gingerreadslainey but now hosted by ThoughtsOnTomes.

I have a lot of sci-fi and fantasy on my tbr. A LOT. I won’t include any that are on my April tbr because they won’t be on my tbr much longer, obviously (by which I mean hopefully). And these will all be ones that I own, by the way.

  • Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

So I read Illuminae about a month ago and LOVED it, which was surprising for me, as I don’t actually read a whole lot of sci fi books, although I do read a lot of fantasy. I wasn’t expecting to fall in love with it, but I really did, and therefore I need to read the next book!

  • The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

I have heard so many great things about this trilogy (I think it is a trilogy? Correct me if I’m wrong) and I bought the first one a few weeks ago and I am so ready to dive into it, but I also have a lot of other books to read, so this keeps getting delayed. But I will get to it. I usually read YA fantasy, so the fact it is adult is intimidating me a bit, I think.

  • The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles

This is a YA fantasy which was released this year. I don’t know a lot about it at all, but I have heard good things about it so I thought I would buy it. I haven’t read it yet though obviously, or it wouldn’t be on this list. But I’m hoping it offers something a bit new and original? If you have read this one, or any of these books, or they are also on your tbr then please comment, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

  • Fairest by Marissa Meyer

I have read all the Lunar Chronicles, and enjoyed them so much! I really want to read this soon, because I am missing the whole world and also I just want to know more about Levana! If I had one criticism of that series, it would be that I don’t feel that we get to know exactly why she acts the way she does, so I’m excited toย find that out in this book.

  • Half Bad by Sally Green

I feel like I’ve kind of neglected this one. It’s just been sitting on my shelf for a while now, and I haven’t really considered picking it up. I have heard good things about this one, but the rest of the trilogy seems to have quite mixed opinions? Whatever, I feel like I need to read them very soon and make my own judgement on it.

So that’s it for my sci fi and fantasy tbr, although believe me there are tons of others I could have picked! What are some of the sci fi and fantasy books on your tbr? Let me know in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday- Sci-fi and Fantasy on my TBR

  1. Great choices!! I almost included The Lunar Chronicles on my list. I’m not quite sure why I didn’t, honestly, haha. I’ve had the first two books for a few years now but for some reason, I still haven’t read them. I also want to read The Edge of Everything. Like you, I don’t really know that much about it, but it does sound really interesting.

    Here’s my T5W if you’re interested and haven’t seen it already: https://kourtnireads.wordpress.com/2017/04/05/top-5-sff-books-on-my-tbr/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

