March Wrap Up and April tbr

Hi Everyone! So, another month has passed. This year has gone so quickly so far, it feels like it should still be January! I haven’t read all of the books on my March tbr, but I think I did quite well in managing my time so I actually had time to read 5 books! Here are the books I read:

  • Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor

I haven’t posted a review of this one, and I’m not planning to, but I absolutely loved it! I wrote in my March tbr that I wasn’t sure about it so far, but it turned out to be amazing, I could not stop reading it! It was less character driven than DOSAM but the characters were still outstanding as was everything else, and I gave it 5 hearts. Definitely recommend this series if you haven’t already read it.

  • The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

I also haven’t reviewed this as I find it impossible to review classics like this, I feel like I couldn’t do it justice, and I don’t have anything to add to what has already been said. But I did love this, it is a new favourite and I strongly believe everyone should read it.

  • Gilded Cage by Vic James

Review here

  • The One Memory of Flora Banks

Review here

  • The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman

I technically finished this in April, I read the last few chapters this morning, but whatever. I will post a review very soon, either later today or tomorrow, but I did really like this one.

So now for the books I want to read in April:

  • Caraval by Stephanie Garber

This was on my March tbr but sadly I didn’t have time to get to it last month, so I will be reading it at the start of this month! I have wanted to read this for so long, it sounds fantastic and I am so excited to get stuck into it.

  • Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly

I don’t know a huge amount about this book, but I have read a couple of Donnelly’s other books (These Shallow Graves and A Gathering Light) which were excellent and I would highly recommend reading. But this has been on my tbr FOREVER so I decided to finally get round to it this month. Also, I’m really in the mood for historical fiction, which I think this is?? I honestly don’t know, but it is something to do with the French Revolution which I haven’t read about before, so I’m looking forward to reading this. Also, I opened it on a random page and the first word I saw was ‘Beatles’, which is a good sign, because if you didn’t know, I LOVE the Beatles (Not sure what they have to do with the French Revolution though but anyway).

  • Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor

I can’t wait to read this! I absolutely adore this trilogy so far, so I really really hope this doesn’t disappoint. I have very high expectations but I have heard lots of good things. Honestly though, I really don’t want it to be over. I know I will race through this, but I will try to make it last as long as I can!

  • Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi

I mentioned I am really in the mood for historical fiction, so I thought I would give this a try. I also feel like I need a bit of a break from YA. I do love YA of course, and I am a teenager, but still I feel like I need to break it up a bit with some Adult novels or classics. From what I have heard this is meant to be stunning, I have wanted to read it since it came out and now seems like the perfect time to do it. I actually don’t own a copy of this yet, but I have ordered it and it should come soon!

  • Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

I really hope this is as awesome as the Daughter of Smoke and bone trilogy! I’m pretty sure I will need more Laini Taylor to read after I finish DOGAM, so I will be picking this up this month ( if I have time, that is). This is also one I ordered the other day so it will arrive soon, I’m so excited! The cover is absolutely gorgeous as well, just sayin’.

  • The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

Ok, this one I am definitely definitely definitely reading this month. All the others are slightly flexible, depending on time and what mood I am in, but this one is for certain. I have wanted to read this for ages, it sounds amazing and I really really want to love it. I have heard so much praise for it, and I want to read at least one classic a month so this will be the one this month.

  • Red Rising by Pierce Brown

This one has also been recommended to me, and yet again I have been meaning to read it for so long. I have read some mixed reviews though, I am not entirely sure I will love it, but we will see.

  • Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones

This one is one I bought recently and I have heard lots of great things about it, as well as the fact it is to do with music? I think that is right. Well it has the word song in the title.

  • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

I love the TOG series, so I believe now is the time to read this. I also can’t wait to get to ACOMAF, but I kinda have to read this first obviously. I hope I love this one as well though. And it sounds like a really entertaining and gripping read, so I want to read it during the easter holidays, when I have time to really get involved in the world.

I have been wayyyyyy too ambitious this month, and I can without a doubt tell you now that I won’t finish all of these books. But I will try. I hope you all have a good April, reading and otherwise!

 

 

11 thoughts on “March Wrap Up and April tbr

    • Thanks so much! So glad you loved Caraval! I’ve started it and so far I like it, I hope it continues that way 🙂 And I feel so excited about my tbr this month, I am so desperate to read all the books I have planned.

      Like

  1. Revolution is set half during the French Revolution and half during modern times, and I believe the main character likes music, but I read it a while ago. I hope you enjoy is as much as I did. I wasn’t as delighted with Caraval as most people were, so I hope you enjoy it more than I did. I’m starting Strange the Dreamer after A Crown of Wishes, and I have high hopes for my fist Laini Taylor book. It’s nice to hear that her first series is good. I have the first book, but I have yet to read it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can’t wait to read The Handmaid’s Tale soon! It has been in my TBR for years now! Also want to read the Bell Jar some day, when I find a copy. I do hope you enjoy it when you get around to it! You’ve got so many wonderful books to look forward to in April! Happy reading!! 😀

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

