February Wrap-up and March tbr

Hi everyone!

So February was a fairly good reading month for me, considering how much schoolwork I had. I read a total of 5 books:

  • The Winner’s curse by Marie Rutkoski, 3 hearts

Review here

  • We Were Liars by E. Lockhart, 5 hearts

Review here

  • Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, 5 hearts

Review here

  • Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor, 5 hearts

Review to come

  • Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake, 2 hearts

Review to come

Overall, I would say my favourite book would have to be either We Were Liars or Daughter of Smoke and Bone. Illuminae came very close, but it wasn’t quite at the same level for me. I am looking forward to reading Gemina though, I even have a copy already! But going back to my favourites, We Were Liars was just so original, a stunning concept and I adored the atmosphere created. To read more about it, see my full review. On the note of incredible atmosphere, look no further than Daughter of Smoke and Bone. The setting was just beautiful, and I loved the whole vibe this book gave off. I will elaborate more when I come to write a review, but for now all I want to say is READ IT!

On a more negative note, Three Dark Crowns was pretty disappointing for me, even though my expectations weren’t that high because of all the negative reviews I’ve seen around. I don’t really want to go into detail now as I will write a review very soon, but I did love the ideas, they just somehow got turned into something very boring.

Now for my March tbr:

  • The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

Ok, I did start this in January, but I got distracted by other books, and also by the amount of work I had to do. However, this month I would like to come back to it and finish it. It is definitely something special so far, but I probably won’t be reviewing this one as it’s one of those books everyone knows is good, and I don’t think I really have much to add to what has already been said, or do justice to it.

  • Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor

I started this a few days ago, and it is enjoyable, but at the moment it isn’t quite reaching the standards of the last book. We shall see how it turns out though, I still have high hopes for it.

  • Gilded Cage by Vic James

I also started this a couple of days ago, and it is looking very promising, an awesome concept, and I also like that it is set in the UK, as I live there and I am very used to reading American YA lit, so it is nice to read one set in my home country, even if it is very different from our world!

  • Murder at the Vicarage by Agatha Christie

I love Agatha Christie, and I am trying to read more classics, so where better to start! I doubt this will be better than The Murder of Roger Ackroyd or And Then There Were None, but how could it be bad? This is Agatha Christie after all.

  • The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr

So I bought this when it came out, but obviously I haven’t got round to reading it yet. I have high expectations, but hope it doesn’t fall to too many of the usual tropes in YA contemporaries. I hope I find some originality here, but we will see.

  • The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman

I have wanted to read this for sooo long. And now I finally will! If I have time at least… But it just seems right up my street, and I needed some YA historical fiction to read this month, so finally reading this one seemed like a good choice. I hope I am not disappointed!

  • Caraval by Stephanie Garber

I am so. excited. for. this. book. Honestly, I just can’t wait to read this. One thing worries me though, and that is how seemingly similar it is to the Night Circus. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely ADORED that book, I just want this to be something new and original like that was! I want to love this so much! Let me know your opinions on this, or any of the other books mentioned, in the comments!

Ok, so I might have bitten off more than I can chew here… I’m just going to try and read every spare moment so I can make the most of any free time that I have. Hope you all have a good month!

 

 

2 thoughts on “February Wrap-up and March tbr

  1. If you enjoyed DOSAB you will adore Laini Taylor’s new Strange the Dreamer series. Similar themes, equally beautiful writing, and with even more endearing characters ❤ I hope you enjoy your March TBR!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

