Top 5 Wednesday – Books to get you out of a reading slump

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme created by gingerreadslainey but now hosted by ThoughtsOnTomes.

I hate reading slumps, but luckily for me they never seem to last very long. All it takes is for a book to interest me and then I’m back on track! However, when you are in one it is one of the worst feelings ever. Just to say, these are books that I would recommend to get you back into reading and out of your reading slump, but I also wanted to add that you should always read what you most want to read when you are in a slump. If there is a book you are just trying as hard as you can to get through but you just aren’t into it and what you really want to do is reread an old favourite, then do that. Reading what you want to read is the best way to get out of a reading slump, in my experience. These are just some books that I think you could easily be interested in and could rekindle your interest in reading.

  1. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo     sixofcrows  This book is just so gripping and involving, and once I got into it it was impossible to stop reading. There is the perfect balance of adventure, excitement, romance, friendship…it all just assembled flawlessly. The characters are so twisted and maybe anti heroes even, but somehow still really likeable?! What is this magic!? But seriously, it was magical, and I can see it as a great one to get someone straight out of their reading slump.
  1. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowellfangirl_book_cover This is just such a light, fun read. Definitely one for all the fangirls out there, because for me, as I definitely fall into that category, this was so relatable. If you need a book that isn’t too taxing, just fun but at the same time still has some kind of substance, then this is the perfect book for you to get straight out of your reading slump!
  2. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahiran_ember_in_the_ashes_book_cover I could not stop turning the pages of this one, I opened the book on the first day of the holidays, planning to just read a chapter then get on with homework, but I could not stop thinking about it, thinking when can I get back to it? I must read another chapter! This is a very good thing if you are in a reading slump, this novel is definitely one which will snap you straight out of it.
  3. Cinder by Marissa Meyer cinder This definitely wasn’t the highlight of the Lunar Chronicles series, which I highly recommend by the way, but everything has to start somewhere, and if nothing else this was a really fun, original read. I chose this because it is very easy to get into, and once you have finished this one, which you would do in no time, you will just want to read the next. And, believe me, they only get better. You will be well and truly out of your slump.
  4. Me before you by Jojo Moyes51tu6lcagbl-_sx323_bo1204203200_ Now for the only non- YA book on my list. I chose this because it is a really meaningful, insightful book, yet still very easy to get into and hard to stop reading. It is compelling and still has a purpose and a point to make, yet this doesn’t prevent it from being a very enjoyable page turner. Definitely a good pick to get you out of your reading slump.

So there we have it. I hope this was helpful for any of you unlucky people in reading slumps. I personally am not, but I don’t want to speak to soon! Thanks for reading!

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Books to get you out of a reading slump

Leave a Reply

