Top 5 Wednesday – Favourite Future Classics

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme created by gingerreadslainey but now hosted by ThoughtsOnTomes.

So this week, I will obviously be talking about 5 books I think will become classics in the future. This is quite difficult, as there are lots of books I love, yet I’m not sure that enough people will continue to read for long enough for it to become a classic. This list isn’t necessarily a list of my favourite books, however I do love these books to pieces! There are a lot of books that, after a few months of being released, are just lost in the sea of releases and not remembered by enough people. For this reason, most of these books will be popular ones, and ones that have already been out for at least a year, I’d say.

  • The Harry Potter Series by JK Rowling

I’m sorry. But how could I not include Harry Potter on this post?! It is already a classic, let alone a future classic. I would be amazed if people aren’t still reading this in, say, 50 years time, maybe more. It has shaped and changed so many people’s lives, this series just can’t be lost. It’s impossible, as it will always live on in so many people’s hearts and be passed down through generations.

  • The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak

This is another book that is loved by so many people. I think that is the criteria for a book becoming a classic- it has to be truly loved. This one just touched my heart, the writing style and the whole concept of Death narrating the book was stunning. I think it has the right amount of originality and at the same time truth (it is set during WW2 if you didn’t know already) to become a classic in the future. I haven’t read any of Zuzak’s other books actually, I’ve been meaning to read I Am the Messenger for ages! Let me know in the comments if it is worth reading!

  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstein

This book is just so incredibly intricate, the world is so original and unlike anything I have read before, the characters are wonderful to read about…I could go on for ages talking about how much I loved this book, but the important thing that will make it a classic is that other people love it and will love it in the future, and also that it stands out from the crowd. For a book to become a classic it has to do something different from any other book, and this one does it.

  • Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

This one is a bit less of an obvious pick than the others have been. I think this book is definitely underrated and I think it doesn’t get mentioned enough. This book is definitely popular, but I think it should be more popular! It has all the makings of a classic, it does lots of things other books don’t do, like showing a love story that is in fact a friendship and not a romance, and it also shows how women fought and what women went through in WW2. It is written in an incredibly original way, and it is unpredictable and keeps you on the edge of your seat. If you haven’t already then go read this book!! Hopefully it will become a classic, because it deserves it.

  • Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

This may seem like a bit of a strange book to choose for this list in particular, but I think this book could easily become a fantasy classic. It has the concept and originality, it is captivating enough to keep readers gripped for years to come, and the writing is absolutely gorgeous. You can read my full review here, but I think what will make this a classic is the ability to captivate readers and its concept as a whole. I have also read the second in the trilogy, which I wasn’t sure about to begin with, but it soon proved me wrong and I ended up loving it as much as the first one! Let me know your thoughts on this as a trilogy as a whole in the comments, but no spoilers for the last book please!

Also, I am sorry I haven’t posted a review this week, but there will be one for The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman coming soon, I just haven’t had time to finish the book yet! But I am loving it so far, so yeah, look out for that review hopefully before the end of the month, probably a bit later. Thanks for reading!

 

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Favourite Future Classics

Leave a comment